Type Tuesday

There are a pair of videos that pay homage to 2013 AIGA Medal winners that happen to have very different styles of typography. I remember the first time I was exposed to both of these typographers. After seeing Weingart’s work, I felt free to experiment. After seeing Hoefler & Frere-Jones’ work, I felt compelled to design my own fonts.

Wolfgang Weingart

Designer and instructor Wolfgang Weingart is recognized with the AIGA Medal for his typographic explorations and teaching at the Schule für Gestaltung Basel, and who, through the work of his students, created a more experimental and expressive approach to typography that was influential around the world.Learn more about his work.

Jonathan Hoefler and Tobias Frere-Jones

Type designers extraordinaire Jonathan Hoefler and Tobias Frere-Jones are recognized with the AIGA Medal for their contributions to the typographic landscape through impeccable craftsmanship, skilled historical reference and insightful vernacular considerations. Learn more about their work.

By Michael Buchino
Published May 21, 2013
AIGA encourages thoughtful, responsible discourse. Please add comments judiciously, and refrain from maligning any individual, institution or body of work. Read our policy on commenting.